Tuesday, September 14, 2010


Advanced or expanded nursing practice
ð Internal examination during labor and delivery; suturing of perineal lacerations and IVT – provided by ANSAP

a.      Nursing specialty certification program
2 policy assuance
ð Adoption of Nursing  Specialty Program
ð Creation of a NSCC

NSCC – created by the BON
3 levels
1.      Nurse Clinician I
2.      Nurse Clinician II
3.      Clinical Nurse Specialist

4 major nursing specialty groups
1.      Community Health Nursing Specialty
2.      Medical-Surgical Nursing Specialty
3.      Mother and Child Health Nursing Specialty
4.      Mental-Health and Nursing Specialty

The program is composed of
1.      Didactic
2.      Practicum
3.      Witten exam

Requirements for the issuance of certifications:
1.      TOR of BSN or MN degrees
2.      Documents showing completion of the requirements for the level applied for
3.      Recommendation of NSCC to BON

ð Specialty certification is valid for 5 years; renewable within 30 days before expiration

b.     Internal Examination and Suturing of Perineal Wounds – prepared by ANSAP and MCNAP
ð Internal examination – an examination of the female’s internal reproductive organs by means of insertion of the examiner’s gloved fingers into the vaginal canal.
ð Suturing laceration – the repair of the first and second degree laceration in the absence of physician
ð Laceration - a wound caused by tissue tearing

1.      Composed of 24-hr didactics/lecture and practicum
2.      Open to all RN who have a minimum experience of at least 3 yrs at Labor/Delivery Rooms or in community with a Lying in clinic

Parameters of evaluation
1.      Written exam
2.      3 correctly performed IE
3.      3 supervised suturing of perineal lacerations

c.      Intravenous Therapy (IVT) – insertion  of the needle/catheter into the vein as prescribed
1.      24-hr didactics and practicum

Evaluation methods
1.      Written exam: pre and post
2.      Completion of cases
ð 6 cases for initiating and maintaining peripheral IV infusion
ð 6 cases for administering IV drugs
ð 2 cases for administering blood and blood components
1.      Didactic – 50%
2.      Practicum – 50 %

Scope of duties and responsibilities of IVTN
1.      Interpret orders
2.      Perform venipuncture except cut down
3.      Prepare, monitor, additives, push
4.      Administer blood, blood products as ordered
5.      Recognize incompatibilities
6.      Maintain, replace in accordance with the procedure
7.      Establish flow rate of fluids and blood
8.      Proficient technical ability in the use, care and evaluation
9.      Documentation

The minimum qualifications of nurses in government service are as follows:
1.      PHN (Nurse II and Nurse III) – RN
2.      Supervising PHN/Nurse Supervisor – RN; Master’s Degree in Nursing or Public Health; at least 5 yrs of experience
3.      Nurse Instructor II – RN; MAN; 3 yrs as PHN; special training
4.      Regional Training Nurse – RN; Master’s degree; 6 yrs of experience, 3 of which is in training or nursing education
5.      Regional Nurse Supervisor/Regional Public Health Nurse – RN, Master’s degree in Public Health or MAN major in community health nursing administration and supervision; 5 yrs as CHN, 2 yrs of which is in supervisory position
6.      Nurse Program Supervisor - RN, Master’s degree in Public Health or MAN major in public health nursing administration and supervision; 7 yrs as PHN
7.      Chief Nurse – RN; Master’s degree in Public Health or MAN major in community health nursing administration; 5 yrs of experience, 3 yrs of which is in supervisory or assistant chief nurse position; leadership ability
8.      Assistant Chief Nurse – RN; Master’s degree in Public Health or MAN major in community health nursing administration; 5 yrs of experience, 2 yrs of which is in supervisory position; leadership ability

Standard Criteria of Nursing Personnel
1.      Nursing Administrator – MAN; 5 yrs in nursing supervisory
2.      Assistant Nursing Administrator – same with nursing administrator
3.      Nurse Supervisor – RN; 9 units in the graduate level; 3 yrs of experience as a head nurse
4.      Senior/Head Nurse – RN; 2 yrs of experience as staff
5.      Staff/Clinic/School Nurse – be currently license to practice professional nursing

1 comment:

  1. One thing that I would definitely suggest to our current nurses is that they don't forget to take their nurses continuing education courses every once in a while (or by the time their nursing board requires it - different depending on location) as it is one of saying that they are the best nurses out there as they have the current education about the field.